Iverson frustrated by lack of minutes

AI isn't smiling these days in Detroit. (AP Photo)

AI isn't smiling these days in Detroit. (AP Photo)

After playing 18 minutes off the bench in Tuesday’s loss to the Cavs, Allen Iverson decided to vent.

He told the Detroit News, “I can play 18 minutes with my eyes closed and a 100-pound truck on my back.  I’m wondering what the rush was to get me back.  It’s a bad time for me mentally.”

Right.

The Pistons are clearly a better team without AI on the court, and with the emergence of Will Bynum, I see no reason Iverson needs to play at all.  His offensive style clashes with Rip Hamilton, and he is a liability on the defensive end.

AI is one of my favorite players to watch, but he is so damn whiny sometimes.  In this situation, he needs to accept his role – for about three more weeks.

It will be interesting to monitor how the Pistons deal with Iverson.  If he keeps complaining, I expect his back injury to flare up again.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

