Former NBA player Wayman Tisdale dies at 44

Tisdale became an accomplished jazz performer following his 12-year NBA career.

Tisdale became an accomplished jazz performer following his 12-year NBA career.

Wayman Tisdale passed away Friday morning after a two-year battle with cancer that led to the amputation of his leg in August 2008.

Tisdale was 44 years old.

Tisdale spent three seasons at Oklahoma and was a dominant force.  He still holds numerous school records, including the school’s all-time scoring and rebounding marks.

He won a Gold Medal with the 1984 Olympic team in Los Angeles.

The Pacers selected Tisdale with the #2 pick in the 1985 draft.  His best years came with the Kings, and spent time with the Suns before retiring in 1997.

He averaged 15.3 ppg during his NBA career.

Tisdale immersed himself in music following his hoops career.  His jazz albums made several appearances in the top-10 on the Billboard charts.

By all accounts, Tisdale was very upbeat man with a big heart.  He is survived by his wife Regina, and four children.

Even though it was cut short, Tisdale certainly lived a full life.

Stay tuned.

4 responses to “Former NBA player Wayman Tisdale dies at 44

  1. judith clay

    One year ago, I had a dream, and the gave the name Wayman Tisdale..I did not ever heard of a wayman tisdale. So , I prayed feverly for him and did not know why until I looked up this name and found out who he was, than a few weeks later I kept checking in on him and found out he had is leg amutatied and was very sad and glad because I knew GOD had this hand on him…I just found out about his background envolving the Church and it then I knew GOD wanted him where He was to work for HIM…Bless the Family and my prayers will always go out to them.. Love, Judith (the Lords handmaiden)

  2. Edward Broussard

    I had the pleasure of seeing Wayman Tisdale perform for my paster at the Worship Center Community Church, in Long Beach, Ca., a coupleof years ago. He was talanted and had a big warm smile. My God bless his family.
    Love,
    Edward

  3. Kelli Mango

    I was heartbroken to hear of the loss of this wonderful individual. It takes a special kind of person to be talented in the sports industry and the world of music. I truly love his remake of “Ain’t No Stoppin Us Now.” My husband and I live by this motto. Peace and blessings to his family.

    May you rest in our Saviour’s arms eternally,
    Kelli

  4. I’m so saddened by Wayman’s passing, what a truly wonderful person. My son-in-law was assistant coach at OU during Wayman’s years there and I had the chance to know him as well as his equally wonderful Father. I know the Lord will hold Wayman close to his heart and all will be well. Prayers to his wife and children!

Leave a Reply

